US/UK

RIVERDALE SEASON ONE REVIEW

So after months of studying for my finals I had a week where I honestly did absolutely nothing apart from binge watch the Netflix Series Riverdale. So here we are weeks on and I’ve finally hauled myself up and gotten myself back together to bring you guys this blog!


 

It is based on the Archie Comics!

So the show is about a town called Riverdale but amidst the town lies the mystery of the murder of Jason Blossom, the twin brother of beautiful and popular troublemaker, Cheryl. Soon the main characters Archie, Betty, Veronica and Jughead all become tangled up in the twisted murder investigation of Jason Blossom. Where fingers are pointed, people are framed and what is revealed changes Riverdale forever….

Multiple Plot Lines:

So although, this is a murder mystery essentially there are multiple layers of plot-lines for each of our main characters. So whilst watching Riverdale I found I had to keep track of each characters plots because you have things like Archie in a scandal, Jughead and is dad’s broken relationship, Veronica and her mysterious dad who is locked behind bars and then Betty’s family who have a long lasting feud with the Blossom’s. In other words the show did get a bit hectic at times because it was hard to keep up with everything that was going on but I think it was amazing how each plot line somehow managed to get weaved into the murder of Jason Blossom!

tumblr_ola1g1utAQ1rmakjvo1_500.gif

Amazing Cast and Characters:

I really found myself admiring the cast for Riverdale simply because I had recognized so many of them from previous shows or films I had watched. I think one cast member that me pleasantly surprised was Cole Spouse, seeing him on screen again really threw me back to my childhood days of watching The Suite Life Of Zack and Cody! Ironically, Jughead became my favourite character of the show, I loved having his narration and the many iconic lines he said but also his fluttering romance with Betty Cooper. Unfortunately other characters such as Archie Andrews I found rather irritating! I have never seen a man move from girl to girl that quickly it just ticked me off and I didn’t particularly see the use of doing it as it played not part in the plot. However, I have to liked the relationship that he had with his father despite his mother being absent in his life.

tumblr_oktc6nNjAL1qetpq0o1_r1_400.gif

But what’s your typical teen TV show without the bitchy female of the school otherwise known as Cheryl Blossom? With Cheryl’s character it was the unusual case of simply disliking her decisions or choice of words and times but also sympathizing with her as she lost her twin not to mention comes from such a twisted family.

Cooper VS Blossoms:

This feud between the two families involving Jason Blossom and Polly Cooper really reminded me of the typical Romeo and Juliet scenario. The way this feud was depicted on screen was so twisted it had rambling on to mum about it for god knows how long. I don’t want to give to much away about this feud but more or less wanted to just tell you all how much it will leave you with your jaw agape. I also feel like especially on the Blossom side that some scenes were eerily gothic making everything so much more intense.

So how were the revelations and answers?

The moment when all four teens sat around the laptop watching a chilling clip had me on the edge of my seat. I praise the cinematography in that seat because it close up of the four teens had me shouting at the screen ‘who did it?!’ The reveal was certainly one that gave me goosebumps when the clip was revealed to the audience and the narration just went so well with the pacing as well. The suspense that the producers had created in those few moments leading up to catching the culprit was done excellently!

tumblr_op3l6xIE201v4v6nso2_500.gif

Riverdale Season Two: What Happens Next?

Once again the narration of Jughead really helped tie the series towards a cliffhanger ready for season two to pick up on. I honestly thought the series would just end with all is well and Riverdale will repair itself but after that ending you just know that season two is going to get a lot more twisted. Will I be watching it when it airs? You bet I will because I need to know if my theories are correct!

Overall?

A great mystery series that left me in suspense and shock. If I had to choose a favourite episode of Riverdale it would certainly be Episode Thirteen: The Sweet Hereafter simply because of the intense moments that episode held and the cinematography, editing, sound all flowed together so perfectly making the episode so strong because it really added to the shock of the revelations!


Have you guys watched Riverdale? Do you have any theories about season two? Let me know in the comments below!


tenor.gif
Till the next blog!

untitled-1

2 thoughts on “RIVERDALE SEASON ONE REVIEW”

  1. I’ve got two episodes left of this (I binged most of it while on a flight recently but haven’t had a chance to finish it). I expected this to be something to sleep to as it isn’t my usual kind of thing, but the characters and story are oddly compelling and they draw you into a very weird but very believable world.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

