Bookish Corner

Six Of Crows By Leigh Bardugo

HELLO EVERYONE SO I HAVE BEEN ABSENT FOR A WHILE DUE SCHOOL WORK [AS USUAL] BUT HERE I AM WITH A BOOK REVIEW FROM MY OLD BLOG! YEP I STILL HAVEN’T COMPLETELY MOVED OVER! THIS ISN’T NORMALLY A BOOK I WOULD GO FOR BUT THE PLOT JUST SOUNDED SO GOOD THAT I HAD TO PICK IT UP AND READ IT, AND I AM SO GLAD I DID! SO LET’S GET INTO THE DISCUSSION/ REVIEW!


44


WHAT IS THIS BOOK ABOUT?

This book follows the plot of a heist and follows 6 points of view from Kaz, Inej, Nina, Matthias, Jesper and Pekka. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist and if he manages to pull the heist off he will be rich beyond is wildest dreams.. But he cannot perform this heist alone so he recruits 5 other members to join this heist where they will all get a section of the money.. He recruits A convict with a thirst for revenge, A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager, A runaway with a privileged past, A spy known as the Wraith and A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums. Kaz and his crew are the only ones who can perform this heist and retrieve what they need to stop the destruction of their world- If they don’t kill each other first…

CHARACTERS:

As you know this follows 6 point of views which I really enjoyed because we got to learn about these characters individually and each of them had a past which was revealed slowly throughout the book. So as usual I normally talk about each character individually.

Let’s start off with Kaz Brekker. So Kaz is like the deputy of the gang the Dregs. He isarrogant, ruthless and infuriating but also very troubled, vulnerable and closed off.Although he did make me want to punch him the face sometimes he was a brilliant character! The fact that Kaz’s character is a criminal not a hero made him more intriguing to read and to learn about his past and why he became what he is today. Kaz was a mystery from the very beginning of the book and I was so curious to find out more about his character and about why he wore gloves that made him so vulnerable without them. He was definitely an interesting and intriguing character to read about.

Slide5

As much as I loved Kaz’s character I also adored Inej! I loved her determination, strong will and how powerful she was as a character. She is known as The Wraith in this book which I believe is the name Kaz gave her. She is known as The Wraith because she moves like one and people don’t hear or see her coming. Inej was recruited by Kaz and also has a special bond with Kaz that no one else, Kaz trusts her more than anyone else. ! I also totally ship Inej and Kaz together because they understand each other, trust each other and work well together! I loved Inej’s relationship with Nina because of course female friendships rule in books!Slide2So since we are talking about Nina and Inej’s friendship it is only fitting that I talk about Nina as a character. Nina is a wonderful character to read about and her past with Matthias was the best back story I read throughout the entire book. Throughout the book you see Nina and Matthias have a love-hate relationship and their relationship had so much depth. Nina is also very passionate about saving the Grisha and believes that Grisha should be treated equally and should never be killed or imprisoned, she has such strong belief throughout the book and constantly isn’t afraid to stand up on behalf of the Grisha’s.Slide1

Next up its Matthias! Matthias is a key aspect to the team as he has been to the Ice Court before and he whole crew rely on him and his memory of the Ice Court. So if he had gotten one detail wrong about the Ice Court the whole heist would of had a terrible outcome.Throughout the book you see Matthias has a lot of hate for Nina and wants to kill her. I waseager to learn what has happened between Nina and Matthias and why did he want to kill her and I was not disappointed by the explanation! The story of the druskelle who fell in love with the Grisha and lost everything because of her but still loved her just made my heart melt. I’m excited to see how their relationship evolves in the next book!

Last but not least we have Jesper who made me chuckle so many times when I was reading this book! Jesper is like the joker of the group and to be honest I would of like to of had more of Jesper’s point of view in this book.. He has an obsession with guns but doesn’t like to use them for killing. He also has a gambling problem which has cost him a lot of money so joining this heist was his only way of getting that money back.. I just hope he doesn’t gamble all of it! I also loved his relationship with Wylan and how he looked after him and stood up for him…I’m on board this ship too in this book!Slide4

PLOT AND WRITING STYLE

So now that we have the characters done let’s talk about the plot which was freaking awesome! It has so many twists and turns, so many tense moments and so much goodaction! I loved how Leigh Bardugo sometimes kept readers in the dark like characters were because we didn’t always know what Kaz was planning and what on earth was going to happen. Oh and those last few chapters has me gripping onto the book for dear life! Just when I thought Kaz had the upper hand the tables suddenly flip and a lot of stuff happens in such a short span of time! I was staring at the book thinking ‘what the hell just happened?’Finally I’ll say a few lines about the writing style which was okay but I didn’t exactly enjoy the descriptions that Leigh Bardugo wrote which I felt like skim reading most of the time but over the course of the book I kind of got used to her writing. I also couldn’t really grasp the whole Grisha world but I assume this was because I haven’t read Bardugo’s previous book that are set in the Grisha world.

Slide3


Overall this book was amazing plot and character wise but I just wasn’t fond of Bardugo’s descriptions and couldn’t seem to grasp the Grisha world.. But I am really excited for Crooked Kingdom, the cover looks stunning too!

WHAT DID YOU THINK OF SIX OF CROWS BY LEIGH BARDUGO? DROP A COMMENT DOWN BELOW AND LET ME KNOW!


untitled-1

Leave a Reply

