Bookish Corner

City Of Lost Souls By Cassandra Clare

I FINISHED THE 5TH BOOK TO THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS SERIES CITY OF LOST SOULS BY CASSANDRA CLARE. THIS BOOK WAS JUST OVER 500 PAGES LONG AND DID TAKE ME ABOUT 1 WEEK TO FINISH BECAUSE I WAS READING IT AT SUCH A SLOW PACE. BUT THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING JUST LIKE ALL THE OTHER BOOKS IN THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS SERIES! IT HAD SO MANY TWIST AND TURN AND TONS OF CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT! SO LET’S GET INTO THE NON SPOILER REVIEW! THIS MAY HAVE SPOILERS FOR PREVIOUS BOOKS IN THE SERIES SO IF YOU HAVE NOT READ UP TO CITY OF FALLEN ANGELS I REALLY DON’T THINK YOU SHOULD READ THIS REVIEW BECAUSE THERE IS A POSSIBILITY YOU WILL BE SPOILED!


rating


GENERAL THOUGHTS:

As usual Cassandra Clare never ceases to amaze with her gripping plot, unique characters and her simple and descriptive writing style. Yet again we have multiple points of views from the characters in the books and this just adds to the entertainment factor. This book has shown an improvement from City of Fallen Angels which felt very much like a filler book to me but the ending with Sebastian being alive and controlling Jace sent my jaw dropping and made me read the ending multiple times! I have to give this book a critical rating of 4/4.5 stars and an entertainment rating of 5 starts because every time I put the book down I just had to pick it up again!

CHARACTERS:

So again we have quite a few characters in this book the main ones being Jace, Clary, Alec, Isabelle, Simon, Magnus and Sebastian. Then we have the side characters of the story Maia, Jordan, Brother Zachariah, Camille, Raphael, Maryse and Maureen. Basically there are loads of characters in this novel and they each play a key role. Clary has developed further into an amazing Shadowhunters, Jace will just boggle your mind in this book but his love for Clary remains the same and constant. Alec kind of made me angry at some points off this book because of how he couldn’t accept Magnus’s past, Isabelle opens up to Simon in this book and again we get to see a more vulnerable side to her and Simon continues to struggle with being a vampire and being a human. Oh and after reading COLS I actually ship Sizzy! Brother Zachariah continues to pop in and out of the story and every time he appeared I couldn’t help but squeal (If you have read Clockwork Princess you would know why). The same things happens with Maureen she pops in and out of the story too and I’m sure she will have a big part to play in City Of Heavenly Fire. I adored seeing Maia and Jordan together in this book and thought they were so cute together! I nearly forgot about Sebastian here I have to admit that it was nice seeing the different side to Sebastian but it was all an act and he is so manipulative and two faced!

PLOT:

So we finally find out what on earth Sebastian is up to in this book and what the hell he is planning and boy it is not good at all! In fact it’s in a hell of a lot worse than what Valentine was planning to do. The plot ranged from fast paced moments to the slow paced ones but they still were intense and kept wondering what on earth was going to happen next. You still have that little bit of mystery in this book which I loved seeing and the novel leaves off with so many questions and possibilities with what will happen next!


OKAY SO IT’S TIME FOR ME TO GO ONTO SOME SPOILERY THINGS HERE SO IF YOU HAVE NOT YET READ CITY OF LOST SOUL YOU DEFIANTLY NEED TO PICK IT UP LIKE NOW!

slide13-pptx


So I just wanted to talk about some key moments in the books which had me screaming internally and feeling all the feels!

So the ending with Sebastian leaving angel wings and saying I am coming didn’t exactly shock me because we all know that he was probably super pissed at the Shadowhunters for ruining his plans of course so I knew he would do something to threaten the shadowhunters. Jace also has heavenly fire in him now so what will happen to him now that he has this running through his veins? I loved seeing Brother Zachariah is this and when he’s said he remembers his life before brotherhood I knew what he was talking about of course and my feels were everywhere. Okay so I’m pretty sure Sizzy became a ship in this book because I totally ship them together but the only thing that frustrated me was that they couldn’t just tell each other their feelings! A ship that broke and pretty much sunk was MALEC and why did that have to happen?… I wish that Alec would just accept Magnus’s past and use cherish the time he has with Magnus while he can like Will and Tessa in TID.. If Tessa appears do you think she might say anything Alec about this? Maureen kept popping up here and there too and the fact she killed Camille shocked me and I do believe she will have a much bigger role in COHF but I don’t believe that Camille is dead at all how could a new fledgling kill the most strong and expirenced vampire?

The book A Tale of Two Cities made yet another appearance and this book had Will’s note which just made all my feels from TID come back but made me wonder why doesn’t Tessa have it? I was actually angry at Jace at one point during the book that was when he let Clary get high on faerie drugs I was literally thinking the REAL Jace wouldn’t have let Clary near that drug or that place at all! Oh Oh and Clary and Sebastian’s fight was just so tense and written so well. I think we have established Sebastian is officially messed up in the head and was he possibly going to rape Clary because he did is her and fumbled around the button of his jeans?  That kiss sent a shudder down my spine literally! Finally but not least and probably the part of the book which hurt to read was when Magnus was hurt and he could of died I was getting so emotional reading that section when Alec came near him, I really hope MALEC gets back together in COHF beacuse they belong to together!


QUESTIONS FOR COHF:

Will Jace get better, will they heavenly fire be taken out from him?
Will Magnus and Alec get together?
Whose angel wings did Sebastian get? ITHURIEL!?
Will Sizzy become an official item?
Will we see more of Brother Zachariah?
Will Tessa make an appearance?
The Seelie Queen who does she stand with?
Who will survive?

Did you enjoy City Of Lost Souls? Are you excited to read the final installment? 


untitled-1

Leave a Reply

