Book Reviews, Bookish Corner

City Of Heavenly Fire By Cassandra Clare

THIS REVIEW WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THIS BOOK.. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!*

AT APPROXIMATELY 1AM OR 2AM I FINISHED READING CITY OF HEAVENLY FIRE BY CASSANDRA CLARE… I LOVED THE CONCLUSION TO THE SERIES BUT I ALSO FELT SO SAD THAT I HAD FINALLY FINISHED TMI. 2 MONTHS AGO I NEVER IMAGINED MYSELF PICKING UP THE SERIES TO READ, NOW HERE I AM AND I’VE COMPLETED THE SERIES WHICH IS THE FIRST EVER 6 BOOK SERIES I HAVE COMPLETED! WHEN I FINISHED THE BOOK THIS MORNING I WAS SO SAD AND JUST FELT REALLY EMPTY BECAUSE I HAVE FALLEN IN LOVE WITH THE WORLD AND THE AMAZING CHARACTERS THAT CASSIE HAS CREATED AND THE END WAS WRAPPED AT SO NICELY AND MADE ME CRY HAPPY TEARS! SO I HAVE DECIDED TO MAKE THIS REVIEW JUST FULL OF SPOILERS BECAUSE THERE IS A HELL OF A LOT I NEED TO TALK ABOUT AND THERE MIGHT BE SOME FANGIRLING HERE! THIS WILL A LONG REVIEW SO BRACE YOURSELF!


rating


PROLOGUE – FALL LIKE RAIN

So I’m literally just going to talk about key things about characters and key events that took place in the book… So let’s start with the prologue where we meet the main characters of The Dark Artifices Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorn. During the prologue Sebastian was invading the institute in Los Angeles to create more of the Endarkened Shadowhunters. Emma, Julian and the other Blackthorn siblings manage to escape to Idris. Throughout this book we constantly go back to Emma and the Blackthorns and see how the invasion as traumatized them and changed them…Emma’s parents have been killed and it was hard to read that section when Helen was telling her as she was clutching her family sword Cortana and Julian has to kill his own father in order to save his siblings because he was turned.. Emma and Julian go through so much in this book but manage to keep themselves together and push through it. I’m really looking forward to seeing them in The Dark Artifices as they are both going to be parabatai and of course, Emma wants to find out what happened to her parents. We also have Mark who is part of the Wild Hunt and will Julian try to get him back from the faeries?

 PART ONE- BRING FOURTH A  FIRE

I loved how we opened the book with the whole squad together and Jace trying to contain and control the fire inside of him.. I found it hilarious when they all started clapping at Jace when he managed to touch Clary without burning her! Can I just say how grossed out I was that the Seelie Queen and Sebastian had a thing and how much I hated the Seelie Queen in this book! Ugh, it’s because faeries like to be on the winning side and well this time she wasn’t! The next thing I want to talk about is Jordan dying I was sad when he died because he was lovable character in the series and he had a sweet relationship with Maia… However, just before Jordan died she wanted to tell Jordan something and I actually thought it was that she was pregnant because let’s be honest Jordan and Maia did have quite a few sexy times. But she wanted to break up with him which I didn’t really expect and it was left so open that I wasn’t really sure why she wanted to break up with him in the first place. We all know that if Sebastian’s attack on the London Institute was successful Jordan would have lived but I’m glad the attack was unsuccessful on the London Institute because that’s like my Shadowhunter home. This was because of some protection thing or that they were warned by something and that something was Jessamine because her ghost still lies at the institute!

Okay Simon was taken and kidnapped yet again so many times in this book and I have to say I couldn’t help but burst out laughing when Maureen had dressed him up and put eyeliner on Simon! I have to say I found Maureen’s character really annoying in this book and for some reason I don’t believe that Camille is dead I mean we never got to see a body, is it possible she is alive? Simon then ends up going with Raphael to Idris to persuade the Clave that Maureen is a huge problem to them and the vampires. Whilst this is happening Sebastian is doing another attack and Jace and Clary are trying to stop him along with other Shadowhunters… Jace ends up getting stabbed by Sebastian and his wound starts weeping fire, Sebastian flees and Brother Zachariah touches Jace and the heavenly fire burns him and I thinks that’s how he becomes mortal!!! Later on Sebastian appears in Clary’s room and pins her against the wall and yet again he kisses her and touches her which just made me so angry and thank god Jace came in time!

While this happening the Downworlder representatives and the faeries drug them and lets Sebastian take them! Sebastian leave another simple message “Veni” which means “I have come.” and Emma tells Jace, Clary, Alec, Simon and Izzy that she thinks Sebastian is in Edom and they set out to go there to destroy him..Alec kills Melorin and I absolutely adored Alec he has become stronger and is fighting to save Magnus, Alec has developed so much throughout the books and I didn’t even like him in the first book! By the end of part one everyone has gone through the tunnel to Edom and they see Mark who is now part of the hunt and Jace gives his witch light to mark which was a really sweet moment. But then we have another hatfeful moment of the Seelie Queen where she tells Sebastian that Jace and Clary are coming!

PART TWO – THE WORLD INVERTED

We then open part two with these dreams that each of the characters had this was written incredibly well and each one I read was actually quite sad. Clary dreamt of the brother she could of had, Simon dreamt about being a normal mundane and that he loved Izzy, Izzy dreamt about Max and that Simon was her boyfriend and Alec dreamt about being the best shadowhunter and getting married to Magnus. At the time this was upsetting because they all may not survive to live their lives and the fact that Max appeared in two those visions just shows how much Alec and Izzy miss him. But we didn’t see Jace’s one and found out later on that he dreamt that he was sitting on a throne with Sebastian and he enjoyed it but of course Clary tells him it’s not true. We also learn a bit about Raphael’s past with Magnus and how Magnus had tried to help Raphael and save him this was interesting to read about and it’s made me more excited to read The Bane Chronicles! We also get this amazing conversation between Jace and Alec which shows the strength and importance of parabatai and how they both need and appreciate each other. I’ve always loved Cassie’s concept of parabatai and can’t wait to read more about it in the Dark Artifices. But then Jace does something incredibly stupid when he sees a demon who looks like the Iron Sister he killed and it manages to get under Jace’s skin and makes him use the heavenly fire! In that short moment of time Jace gave up and lost hope which was sad to see but thank god Clary helped him get it under control again but she must of been so disappointed with Jace for giving up.

Another character who died was Raphael which really upset me! At first I was so angry at him for betraying Magnus and Luke and joining Sebastian. But when Sebastian asked Raphael to kill Magnus I knew he wouldn’t because Magnus saved his life… I have always loved Raphael’s character even though he was only a minor character not a main character but I’ve always loved his interactions with Simon. Raphael has always wanted to do the best thing for the vampire clan and has wanted to lead it for a while but now he won’t! I have to say I will miss Raphael! And then Izzy gets hurt and Simon saves her by putting his blood on her wound and heals her! We then also got Clace sexy times in chapter 20 which was written and done so beautifully but guys why would Jace pack condoms on a trip to the demon realm I do not know… Sebastian has also called war with Idris now and Jia Penhallow does this amazing speech full of inspiration and motivation. Then Sebastian offers that he will save the other dimension if she remains with him as his queen and she accepts and Jace is just unconscious while this is happening I was screaming DON’T DO IT DON’T DO IT HE IS LYING!! Whilst this is going on Alec, Izzy and Simon are saving Luke, Jocelyn and Magnus and Magnus asks Alec to call his blade Raphael which I found so sweet because it was Magnus’s way of remembering Raphael and showing his respect.Luke, Magnus Alec and Izzy, Simon and Jocelyn make their way down to meet Clay and Jace and see that Clary is sitting on the throne! I just faced palmed myself at this point!

When Sebastian asked everyone to kneel down and Magnus did it first I was finding it hard to find the will to read on. Then he asks Clary to kiss him like she loved him I couldn’t believe what I was reading until Clary had stabbed him with her sword which was infused with heavenly fire! I shouted out loud YES but then came the tears of sadness because Sebastian was gone and all that was left was Jonathan and he was asking for forgiveness and was so sorry and said that he dreamt of being a good brother.. I was crying quite a bit at this point because this is the brother Clary could have had and now she never will and Jocelyn was losing her son all over again and when he died he died smiling at his mom and Clary… But then we realize that they can’t get out of Edom and it’s time for us to find out that Magnus’s daddy is and I had a hunch it would be the prince of hell… Just when I thought the tears had stopped I was crying again because Simon had volunteered himself to save the others. Just when I thought wait Simon will be okay because he is 16 so he will just be human again but oh no the stupid demon wanted his memories too so he wouldn’t remember anything about the shadow world and seeing all his memories of everyone just made me bawled my eyes out! Even though I was never fond of Simons character at the start I grew fond of him and will remember him as a hero despite how many times he was the victim and kidnapped throughout the whole series.

EPILOGUE – THE BEAUTY OF A THOUSAND STARS

Then I got to the epilogue which I was bracing myself for because we all know that Cassie’s epilogues just emotionally wreck you… Clary, Izzy and Magnus go to see Simon and Clary tries to talk to him but he doesn’t remember anything but Simon gives her a poster and his band is called The Mortal Instruments! I was bouncing up and down saying he remembers! Then Magnus meets him and says that Simon can ascend to be a shadowhunter and helps him remember a few things! Then we finally have Luke and Jocelyn’s wedding and Simon appears and remembers Clary which had me crying tears of joy! Jace decides to take the Herondale name which got me emotional and full of happy tears that the line of Herondales shall live on. We also see Jem and Tessa together which was so lovely to see and to read about them still missing Will and always think about him just brought more tears to my eyes… When Tessa talks to Clary it was so freaking awesome to see the two of them meet and Tessa gave Clary the Herondale rings and her old Shadowhunters Codex and of course I think Jem stole Church because he loved that cat to bits! There is a possibility that Sizzy could get back together and Malec is now back together too! The last scene of the book brought happy tears to my eyes where everyone was sitting on the beach and Jace asks Clary what she thinks of the name Herondale and the last lines of the novel brought so many happy tears to my eyes! It was such a beautiful ending to the whole series!

OTHER POINTS:

The references to TID just killed me!

Seeing Jem and Jace talk to each other just made me so emotional and happy.

Cassandra Clare always manages to make me laugh with her one liners! Even in the most dark times and tense moments I find myself bursting out with laugher because a character has said something hilarious!

Tessa  and Jem are going to Los Angeles so I’m hoping they will appaer in The Dark Artfices!


I will certainly miss these characters a lot and I am quite sad that the adventure has now come to an end… I’ll miss Jace’s sarcastic comments, Simon and his one liners, Clary and her determination and courage, Izzy and her strength, Alec and his sassiness and last but not least Magnus and his cat eyes and ability to make me laugh! I’m so tempted to start reading Shadowhunters Academy.

So enough of me talking I know this review is long but I had so much to talk about! What did you think about the final installment to TMI? Drop a comment down below!


untitled-1

Leave a Reply

