Book Reviews, Bookish Corner

City Of Fallen Angels By Cassandra Clare

HEY BOOK LOVERS! SO ITS 9:40PM AND I JUST FINISHED READING CITY OF FALLEN ANGELS AND BY THE ANGEL IT WAS GREAT! I HAD A LONG DEBATE TO MYSELF ABOUT WHETHER I SHOULD POST MY REVIEW UP TODAY ABOUT IT OR SHOULD I WAIT UNTIL ALL MY FEELS DIE DOWN AND WRITE IT SATURDAY MORNING.. I FINALLY THEN DECIDED THAT I MUST DO IT TODAY SO I CAN START CITY OF LOST SOULS TOMORROW! THIS MIGHT BE A BIG MASSIVE EXPLOSION OF FEELS AND I APOLOGIES IN ADVANCE IN CASE THAT THIS REVIEW BECOME A FANGIRLING POST! SO LET THE FANGIRLING I MEAN REVIEW COMMENCE!


44

GENERAL THOUGHTS:

So as we all know this is the 4th book in TMI series which is written by Cassandra Clare. Now I have to admit it took me 6 days to read this book and it was less than 500 pages… I should normally be able to read this in about 2-4 days but I just didn’t feel the urge to pick up the book sometimes and read it. I mean I flew through the first 3 books so quickly in January! This book did have a particularly slow beginning for me but had a good amount of mystery that managed to pull me into the book and immerse myself in it. COFA defiantly expands in terms of character development but also slightly in plot too; we have more point of views in this book which defiantly made it more entertaining and interesting to see what the different characters would be thinking at the time. The plot as I said before has also expanded but this didn’t happen until the end of the book really. I felt like the rest of the book did have a lot of mystery elements which I love in a book but some of the revelations to these mysteries didn’t particularly surprise me. However, by the end of the book I was left with my mouth gaping wide open in shock… I think the ending sort of made up for the sections of the book that I didn’t particularly like…


I WILL NOW GO ON TO TALK ABOUT THE CHARACTERS IN A SPOILERY WAY SO IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK I ADVISE YOU TO AVERT YOUR EYES!slide13-pptx


CHARACTERS/POV:

So I think I will be talking about 5 main characters which were Clary, Jace, Simon, Alec and Isabelle and also maybe a few small lines about other characters such as Camille, Jordan and Maia.

It still continues to amaze me how much I have seen Clary develop since City of Bones. I mean we all know that I just wasn’t exactly keen on her character in COB. But as the books go on we continue to see her change and adapt in so many ways! So Clary has been actually training to be a Shadowhunter in this book and thank the angel for that! Since COB I felt like Clary was just doing nothing and that she was sometimes just a burden to the Shadowhunters so the fact that she trains and learns knew skills pleased me…However I did feel that Clary was just plain stupid sometimes especially when she went to that Church Talto without anyone else I mean she did text Isabelle but she couldn’t wait for her to turn up?

A character we really got to see different layers of was Jace. Yes he has that strong exterior to him but inside he is a vulnerable boy. Throughout this book Cassie allows us to see the different layers to Jace and everything he thinks and feels through his point of view. I honestly felt so bad for him when he was having those dreams about killing Clary and the fact he was always afraid he was going to hurt her somehow. But he constantly keeps this hidden from Clary and doesn’t tell her until further on in the book. And when he punishes himself for hurting Clary by not talking her or not looking at her just gave me this sinking feeling in my stomach…I really loved seeing Clary and Jace’s relationship take diffrent turns and how that you can see that together they are stronger and how they are stuck to eachother like glue. (Plus there were some really sexy scene’s between them) I also really loved seeing Jace interact with Simon more and their conversations in this book were so funny at times. We all know that Jace cares about Simon and not just because of Clary!

Simon, Simon, Simon. Well he had the most POV in this book. I mean at times I forgot that this book did have multiple POV because we spent so much time in this book in Simons POV. Don’t get me wrong I loved reading his POV but I felt like there was too much Simon. I would have loved to have got more POV from Isabelle and Alec. But Simon did however have such as key role in the plot and as we know he is a Daylighter and everyone literally wants him on their side… Even Maia and Isabelle who he dates at the same time throughout this book. Simon constantly questions his life as a Vampire and when he meets Camille who puts thoughts into Simon’s head it makes him question himself and whether he can ever be normal again. He also feels like an outcast to the shadowhunters who often still acknowledge him as a Downworlder rather than someone who fought alongside them in Idris. But he gets some amazing wise words from Luke by the end of the book which perhaps might lead him to fully accept who he is and that he shouldn’t hide it.

Isabelle is someone who is dating Simon and of course she is not the only one because Maia was too! We didn’t get much POV from Izzy but whenever we did I loved reading from her POV because to me she is an inspiration she is such a strong, brave and sassy woman and we can defiantly see that in her POV. But we also see that as a child she has had secrets to keep from her brothers, Maryse told Izzy that her father Robert had cheated on her and Izzy kept that from her brothers to protect them. We also find that she wants to actually have a stable relationship with someone and she wants that someone to look at her the way Jace looks at Clary or how Magnus looks at Alec. We begin to see that there is more to Izzy than we know. Alec has also changed since COG and being in relationship with Magnus has made him more relaxed and he is happy that he doesn’t have to hide who he is anymore. Alec is a lot more generous to Clary and I especially loved the bit where he pushed Clary out of the elevator to talk to Jace! But Alec also worries about his future with Magnus and the fact that Magnus is immortal and will find someone else when he has passed away.


THE ENDING/PLOT:

Okay so we all know that I couldn’t not talk about this… It felt like the book was building up to this and the ending to me did make up for the large chunk of the middle of the book. But THE ENDING! THE CLIFFHANGER! It drove me nuts I tell you! I was sitting in bed just trying to comprehend what I had just read and I must have read the end so many times to make sure that what I had read was right! I had a gut feeling that something bad was going to happen or that Jace was going to do something incredibly stupid but Cassandra just dropped a bomb that literally blew up in my face… I was honestly left speechless!


I felt like this book was kind of like a filler book or a book to a new trilogy because I think what Cassie was trying to was set up the plot for what will happen in the next two books which I am honestly pumped for!

WHAT DID YOU LIKE ABOUT COFA? DO YOU HAVE A FAVOURITE SCENE?


untitled-1

Leave a Reply

