Book Reviews, Bookish Corner, Uncategorized

City Of Bones By Cassandra Clare

I DECIDED TO PICK UP THIS BOOK YET AGAIN AND GIVE IT ANOTHER TRY SINCE THE TV SHOW HAS STARTED AND AS I HAVE READ THE INFERNAL DEVICES SERIES SO THOUGHT I MIGHT FIND IT EASIER TO READ AND GET INTO IT, ESPECIALLY BECAUSE I’M OBSESSED WITH THE SHADOW WORLD! AND I MANAGED TO ENJOY CITY OF BONES A LOT MORE THIS TIME I READ IT AND I FINISHED THE BOOK! SO LET’S JUMP INTO THE REVIEW!


44


So I’m going to start off with the characters of the book as I normally do! So let’s start off with Clary Fray… So I wasn’t too fond of her character in this book. I could relate to her character sometimes for example that she is just a 16 year old teenager like me who likes to wear sneakers and zip up sweater… This is actually similar to what I do on the weekends when I’m at home. But I found quite whiny at times and felt like she wasn’t really being much help to the Shadowhunters at all, apart from finding the Mortal Cup I didn’t really see what she did to help them… She could have maybe learnt how to fight or trained with one of the Shadowhunters. But I did like Clary’s sassiness which made me laugh sometimes.

Jace Wayland is definitely one of my favourite characters in the book. He does remind me of Will Herondale from The Infernal Devices too which is probably why I instantly fell in love with his character… He is an arrogant Shadowhunter but also very closed off about his life and has been through a lot since he was a child. Jace honours his title as a Shadowhunter and takes pride in being one, and well he has defiantly got skills! Another reason why I loved Jace’s character was his lines in the book which made me burst out laughing..! From the very beginning we get such funny and witty comments from Jace!

Simon Lewis again a character I sometimes liked but also disliked at the same time. He was like the third wheel in this book and was dragged into the Shadow world because of Clary. I also just found him annoying at times in this book and again felt like he wasn’t helping the situation much. But Simon’s lines also made me laugh throughout this book.

Alec Lightwood is a character I left the book feeling unsure about… I found it hard to connect with him and I didn’t particularly like him in this book just because of the way he was being with Clary and how he wanted to get rid of her as soon as possible. But by the end of the book I was left questioning his character. Isabelle Lightwood is an amazing character! I’m really glad that Cassandra Clare creates really strong female characters in her books. I really liked seeing Isabelle, Alec and Jace’s brother/sister relationship and enjoyed seeing Isabelle coming closer to Clary throughout this book.

Valentine Morgenstern was a great character in this book… He plays the antagonist and I defiantly found him evil, cunning and manipulative! Cassandra Clare has again created another fantastic villain in this book! And his back story was awesome this is another strength that Clare has is that she creates such amazing back story’s that just leave you in shock!

Lucian Graymark was another character I really liked and he also has a great back-story which was defiantly tense and left me in shock! He acts as a father figure to Clary and is also there to help Jocelyn when he needs too… He caring and loving towards Clary but also has that sense of leadership in him and strength…Whilst he didn’t have the biggest role in this book I really enjoyed his character!

Last but defiantly not the least is Magnus Bane! He was one of my favourite characters in TID and he still is in this book! We only get small scenes with him but every single one was amazing! Magnus Bane never fails to make me laugh or smile when I am reading! He has style too guys! He plays a key part in Clary’s past and has helped Jocelyn a lot too in the past… Magnus Bane is defiantly one of my all time favourite characters!

The plot in this book was great whilst you do have yet another love triangle by Cassandra Clare I think she executed it really well! This book again doesn’t rely on the love triangle as some books do. The plot was well thought out and had so many twists and turns to it! There were also some really good action/fighting moments which left me feeling really tense! Cassandra Clare’s writing never ceases to amaze me it’s not too complex but it’s not too simple either… Cassandra’s description is brilliant too some books contain a large amount or pages and pages on description but I think that Cassandra Clare incorporates the right amount into her books. Cassandra’s dialogue through this book is again brilliant and she always manages to make me laugh or smile whilst I’m reading!


So overall my rating for this book is 4 out of 5 stars only because I didn’t feel like I could connect to some of that characters in this book but the plot and the writing style for me managed to boost my rating up… I’ve already started City of Ashes, in fact I’ve nearly finished and I’ve actually enjoyed it more than the City Of Bones!

How did you find the introduction to The Mortal Instruments Series?


untitled-1

Leave a Reply

