Book Reviews, Bookish Corner

City Of Ashes By Cassandra Clare

So as you can see I finished the 2nd book to The Mortal Instruments series and I actually enjoyed this book a lot more than the first one! So let’s hop right into the non spoiler review guys!


44


WHAT IS THE BOOK ABOUT? (TAKEN FROM GOODREADS)

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father. To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

GENERAL THOUGHTS:

As I have stated before I didn’t really enjoy City Of Bones as much as I would have liked to but boy this book defiantly steps the series up to another level which I loved! From the very beginning you are left questioning what Valentine is up to and I had no problem getting into the book and going on this amazing adventure with the characters! Speaking of the characters so much development from the first book! I found myself liking Simon a hell of a lot more and I was really happy to see Clary developing into this strong female character! Alec, Magnus and Isabelle defiantly get bigger roles in this book and I this was something that I was really eager to see in this book and I got it! The plot has defiantly grown and expanded so much in this book and I think that as I read on it’s going to keep shocking me and get even more twisted! This book is defiantly full of action and will leave you wanting more!

So that is all for the non spoiler section guys! So if you have not yet read City Of Ashes By Cassandra Clare go now! Pick up the book and read it!


slide13-pptx


Okay this book had so many twists and turns am I right? Especially the last few chapters had me staring into space with my mouth hanging open! The main thing that I really liked about this book was the plot and the characters, that’s pretty much everything though right?

I warmed to Clary a lot more in this book and felt that she has gone through so much development in this book! I think my favourite Clary scene was probably when she manages to throw a knife into the pillow and defends Simon… I was literally saying “THIS IS THE CLARY I WANT PEOPLE.” Oh and when she used that rune to tear the ship apart bit by bit I was literally thinking that is so damn cool! Also her relationship with Jace is certainly more complicated than ever now! They are brother and sister but I don’t believe it at all! Why you ask… Because every time Simon and Clary kiss its awkward and it always feels like they are brother and sister…BUT whenever Jace and Clary kiss there are fireworks I tell you!! Fireworks!

I also liked Simon a lot more in this book! I did like his relationship with Clary in this book although he did still feel like a third wheel at times I loved him! Simon turning into a vampire in this book was FREAKY! The whole ritual where you had to bury his body and he had to dig himself out just sent a chill down my spine! And when he was about to die by the Mortal Sword he said Clary’s name as his last word… I think a tear or two slid down when I read this! But no Simon was still alive and Jace gave Simon HIS BLOOD!!!! I was literally screaming JACE SAVED SIMON LIFE! I loved this bit in the book “I’m hungry right now,” Simon said, and smiled to reveal that his fang teeth had slid from their sheaths. They glittered white and pointed against his lower lip. “I wouldn’t mind a little more blood. Of course your blood would probably choke me, you poisonous piece of – “I could so imagine him doing this for some reason! Finally Simon is a Vampire but he can go out in daylight… Could this possibly be because he drank Jace’s blood?

Jace is defiantly explored further in this book and we see him battle his feeling for Clary and his questions things about himself and whether he really is like his father Valentine. We defiantly see different layers to Jace and how he deals with his feelings. For example when Maryse threw him out of the Institute he was probably upset, confused and angry which then led him to cause trouble with the werewolves and turn his upset and confused feelings into perhaps anger. I’ve also noticed how Jace is really good at hiding his feelings on his face sometimes and he sometimes goes into lockdown mode so no one can see his feelings. I also loved seeing Jace’s bond with Alec in this book which I thought was cute! Jace also has this kind of power which allows him to jump really high and jump down from high places without a scratch! Jace is a character I will really look forward to reading about. Oh one more thing… THAT INQUISITOR!!! SHE WAS SO MEAN TO JACE!! But she was about to tell Jace something before she died but we never found out!!!

Valentine of course is evil cunning and manipulative as usual! And he is planning something using demons and we all know that using demons is a bad idea guys! He continues to try and persuade Jace to work with him and uses Jace’s fear against him. He tries to act all nice but underneath he is just pure evil. The things he says to Jace and Clary are absolutely horrible!

Finally let’s talk about Magnus and Alec!!! Okay so you know how I didn’t like Alec in City Of Bones well I freaking loved him here! I think he has loosened up a little bit and I can defiantly see leadership in him! And Magnus who is one ultimate favourite character in this was awesome as usual! I loved his introduction to this book when he asks if should kick Jace to see whether he was dead was hilarious! Then when he talks about his box sets and is just casually sitting there witnessing the teenage drama just made me burst out laughing at times! Magnus defiantly has some priceless moments in this book! AND I SHIP MALEC!! Some moments were so cute between them! Especially when Alec says “Take my hands,” Alec said. “And take my strength too. Whatever of it you can use to—to keep yourself going.”Magnus didn’t move. “I thought you had to get back to the ship.” “I have to fight,” said Alec. “But that’s what you’re doing, isn’t it? You’re part of the fight just as much as the Shadowhunters on the ship. – And I know you can take some of my strength, I’ve heard of warlocks doing that so I’m offering. Take it. It’s yours.SO CUTE AM I RIGHT GUYS?


So I’ve rated this a 4/5 stars because of just how Cassandra has shown development in her characters and how much she has widened and expanded the plot line so it has possibilities to go even further! I’m really looking forward to starting City Of Glass as soon as possible!

Did you like City Of Ashes? Do you believe that Clary and Jace are blood related?


untitled-1

Leave a Reply

