Book Reviews, Bookish Corner

Clockwork Angel By Cassandra Clare

THIS WAS MY FIRST EXPERIENCE READING A CASSANDRA CLARE BOOK .. I HAVE PREVIOUSLY TRIED TO READ THE FIRST BOOK TO THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS SERIES MULTIPLE TIMES BUT I JUST COULDN’T GET INTO IT.. BUT CLOCKWORK ANGEL HAD AN AMAZING PLOT LINE PLUS MANY POSITIVE REVIEWS ON IT SO I DECIDED TO GIVE IT A GO! CLOCKWORK ANGEL IS THE FIRST BOOK IN THE INFERNAL DEVICES TRILOGY AND IS A PRE-SEQUEL TO THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS SERIES AND IS SET IN THE 1800 DURING THE REIGN OF QUEEN VICTORIA. AND THIS BOOK DEFINITELY LEFT ME WANTING TO READ MORE! THIS BLOG WON’T CONTAIN SPOILERS!


rating


REVIEW:

So let’s begin with the characters in this book.

Tessa Gray is our main character who is 16 years old and she has moved from New York to London to meet her brother. I really liked Tessa’s character throughout Clockwork Angel and as you progress through the book you can defiantly see the amount of change and development that she has gone through. Tessa is strong minded, loyal and smart.. You definitely see Tessa struggle throughout this book with missing her brother and accepting something she has learnt about herself. Throughout the book you see Tessa go through many emotions and she wants to be strong like Shadowhunters.

William Herondale is a Shadowhunter and he appears early on in the book. Will is seventeen years old and he is quite a skilled Shadowhunter, witty and very confident. I really liked the banter between Will and Tessa and the comments that Will made in this book which just made me giggle! However, as I read on throughout the book I became detached from Will and there is something that is definitely troubling him that makes him act the way he is and I need to know what it is as the ending just left me thinking! I grew fond on Will in the beginning but I think that thing that is troubling him is stopping me from loving him.

James Carstairs, is our other Shadowhunter and unlike Will he appears later on in the book. Will and Jem are partabai which means Warrior Brothers. Jem is very different to Will and is such a gentleman to Tessa and he has so much respect for others and is always so nice! He also looks out for and makes sure he doesn’t do anything too stupid.. Again I grew fond of Jem when he was introduced and just felt like Jem and Tessa got along with each other really well when they met and I loved reading small moments between them.

There were also many other characters in Clockwork Angel who were also amazing! Henry and Charlotte what a powerful and strong couple they were! Charlotte was the strong female leader and Henry her husband was a mechanic who did have some comical moments in the book. Jessamine who I don’t particularly like at the moment but she was quite a conflicting character so I’m not really sure what to think of her..I really liked seeing Magnus Bane and his lover Camille come into play in this book and from what I’ve heard they are both in TMI series too? De Quiencey, Mortmain and the Dark Sisters also amazing characters to read about and so brilliantly created by Cassandra Clare.. They all fitted right into the story and linked well together!

Right, let’s move onto the plot which was fast paced and so addicting that I couldn’t put the book down! The mystery of who Tessa is and who the hell the Magister was and what he wanted with Tessa was written wonderfully! Honestly I would never of guess who the Magister. Cassandra wrote her plot so well and kept me drawn to it all the time!


This book honestly left me wanting more and I am now super eager to move onto Clockwork Prince where Jem is featured on the front cover. Plus I am curious about where the plot will head on next and the developments of the characters we will see in the next book!

What did you think about Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare? Are you on Team Will or Team Jem?


untitled-1

Leave a Reply

