Bookish Corner, Uncategorized

A Court Of Thorns and Roses By Sarah J Maas

Since I had fallen in love with the TOG Series hearing about ACOTAR I just had to pick it up and read it. Sarah truly did not disappoint at all with her new series and made me fall in love with her writing all over again.

rating

REVIEW

So onwards to the non spoiler review! So this book is a Beauty and The Beast retelling and a damn good one! Its written from the Feyre’s point of view who is the main character in this book. So Feyre is 19 years old and she is the youngest and she provides food for her family by hunting.. The land she lives in was once ruled by the Fae but a revolution took place which left the lands divided in human and fae territories…THEY ARE NOT ALLOWED TO CROSS OVER! One day Feyre kills a Faerie and a beast bursts into her cottage and takes her away to Prythian where she will live forever! I had no problem getting into this book and Maas has created an amazing new story and characters you instantly fall in love with (or hate)!

That’s pretty much all I can say without spoiling the book for you guys! So I’m going to politely ask you to leave now if you have not read ACOTAR because down below there is a MASSIVE SPOILER REVIEW/SECTION!

 

slide13-pptx

Wohooo! You read this steamy, romantic and epic book! I honestly really enjoyed this book because I was having this huge book hangover over Queen Of Shadows and I was having a hard time accepting that I had to wait a year for the next book! But ACOTAR pulled me out of my hangover and well left me loads of questions and thinking to do because Sarah left me with many feels at the end of this book and of course blew my mind!
So let’s start with the characters in this book!

Feyre And Tamlin

So as you already know Feyre is the main protagonist in this book and she is independent, strong and totally sassy (I love that about her). She is not in anyway similar to Celaena in the Throne of Glass series. I really enjoyed the first person point of view in this book and Maas wrote from Feyre’s perspective so well considering she wrote the Throne Of Glass series from third person. You can definatly see throughout the book how Feyre’s feelings toward the fae start to change and she befins to see Prythian as her actual home as when Tamlin sends her back home she believes that Prythian and the Spring Court is her home. Also guys Feyre never listens to anyone in this book honestly every time someone said no she went and did it anyway!

So next let’s talk about Tamlin..Oh Tamlin what a sweetie! So he is the High Lord Of the Spring Court and well he the beast in this retelling! So he has a curse which is that he wears this mask and Amaratha put this curse on him and his court! THE SOLUTION TO BREAK THIS CURSE WAS VERY SPECIFIC! The human that has to fall in love with Tamlin and must hate the Fae with all her heart and kill a faerie unprovoked.. So Tamlin tries to get close to Feyre but it just wasn’t happening because Feyre wanted nothing to do with him. And when is flirting was off at the beginning of the book was actually quite funny! Oh Tamlin! *swoons.* I just want to mention the criticism Tamlin ahs recieved for his character some people have said he was manipulative to towards Feyre and well I DISAGREE he could not give her any information the cause to the real curse otherwise her love for Tamlin may not of been genuine and Feyre had to work out something’s for herself. Also Tamlin welcomed Feyre into is manor with open arms and treated her nicely whilst she was staying at the manor.

Okay not going to say too much about Tamlin’s and Feyre’s relationship because I will just ramble on and on and on! But I will simply say THEY WERE SO CUTE TOGETHER! The fact that Tamlin too Feyre to the starlight river and he gave Feyre a glimpse of what everything was like in a Fae body had me squealing so much and shipping them so much! The fact that Feyre slowly fell for Tamlin and Tamlin slowly began to fall for Feyre too even though the curse said a human just had to love them he didn’t have to love Feyre but he ended up falling for her anyway! And OMG those steamy scenes in this book had my pulse racing!!! The Fire Night Scene to be specific again Feyre ignore Lucien and goes out of her room anyway! I had to fan myself due to the hotness and steaminess of a scene (Wheew).

q4

Rhysand:

So I’m really not sure what I think about Rhys in this book. We meet him on Fire Night and he saves Feyre but it isn’t really made clear that it was him. Then when he came to the manor I hated him read Feyre’s mind and embarassed her and then made Tamlin get on his knees and beg him not to tell Amaratha! He then turns up again when Feyre goes to save Tamlin and he kind of saved Feyre’s life by telling Amaratha Clare was Feyre.. This was when I started questioning his character a bit. He healed Feyre’s arm but in exchange Feyre has to spend 1 week a month at his Night Court and he tattoo’s her so there bargain is marked permanently.. Again he saved her life! I didn’t like the fact Rhys used Feyre as his like plaything..However, even though he did do this he never touched Feyre anywhere else other than the waist and arms, if anyone else did he would know because of the paint. He therefore had no intention of taking advantage of her.

Rhys also saved her life AGAIN YES AGAIN during the second trial where he told her what lever to pull because she couldn’t read and he also stops her from breaking down in front of Amaratha because he was able to talk to her through there bond right..(Correct me if i’m wrong) UGH and When Rhys kissed Feyre I have to be honest but I WAS SO ANGERED BY IT! However, he did save her life AGAIN after all Amaratha isn’t stupid and would know who else would of been with Feyre so Tamlin and Feyre would of been doomed if Rhys didn’t step in. Oh it’s also hinted at that Rhys is sexually abused by Amaratha as people do call him Amartha’s whore..

So I’ll conclude that I love and hate Rhys at the same time.. Weird right?

q5

Amaratha

We all hated her right! Her past was very interesting though and I found her so cunning and evil. Learning about Jurin and her sister the King Hybern leaves so much to happen in the next two books! I think Maas a gift for creating AMAZING villains as she makes me feel so angry toward them and feel so much hatred! Obviously when Tamlin ripped Amaratha’s throat out I was like YES!!!!! She had the nerve to beg to Tamlin as well UGH!

The EPIC Finale:

The ending was bloody fabulous! When Amartha’s last trial was for Feyre to kill 3 people I was like you evil evil lady! I honestly thought that Feyre was going to have to kill her family but thank god she didnt have to. I couldn’t bare to read Feyre kill those Fae but when the last one was Tamlin my heart stopped for a moment. But then she realizes to listen to things she heard and Tamlin always spoke in public places and she realized she has never heard his heart beat so she thinks it made out stone! And STABBED HIM IN THE HEART MY FEELS WERE ALL OVER THE PLACE! BUT AMARATHA GETS SO DAMN ANGRY AND STARTS CRACKING FEYRE’S BONES. Rhys bless him! (Did I just say that?)  He tries to save her and then suddenly Feyre is able to see from is eyes.. I was confused here I still am a bit! Then Feyre solves that stupid riddle and Amaratha breaks her spine and she dies! JUST SO YOU KNOW IT WAS 3AM IN THE MORINING AND I WAS CRYING AND GASPING I WANTED TO SCREAM TOO!

q8
THE RHYSAND AND FEYRE ENDING

• Okay so this has been driving me crazing for quite some time now!
• I read quite a few theories about what happened between them and the one that comes up most frequently is that she mated me Rhys or Rhys is her damn mate!
• But Feyre probably doesn’t know because she is still adjusting to her Fae body…
• AND HONESTLY DON’T KNOW HOW TO FEEL ABOUT THIS
• I love Tamlin and Feyre together and feel if Rhys gets with Feyre book one will be pretty much useless and Feyre went through so much to prove her love for Tam!
• HOWEVER RHYS IS SO MYSTERIOUS AND INTRIGUING AND THEY BOTH REALLY OPENED UP TO EACHOTHER AT THE END AND I CAN’T HELP WONDERING WHAT THEY WILL BE LIKE TOGETHER.
• Plus Sarah says that the next book is based on Hades and Persephone.. And loads of Rhys’s secrets will be exposed…

q6

SO A FEW QUESTIONS I HAVE ABOUT THIS BOOK AND THE NEXT BOOK

• WHAT DID RHYS SEE THAT MADE HIM STUMBLE?
• HOW WILL FEYRE COPE WITH THE GUILT OF KILLING THE FAE?
• HOW WILL TAM AND FEYRE’S REALATIONSHIP PROGRESS?
• WILL THE KING OF HYBERN COME INTO PLAY IN THE NEXT BOOK?


What you think made Rhys stumble.. And what team are you on Team Tamlin OR Team Rhysand.. I have to say I’m undecided at the moment!


untitled-1

Leave a Reply

