kpop, Music and Film

BTS WINGS COMEBACK & ALBUM REVIEW

Date 10th October 2016 BTS COMEBACK WITH THERE NEW ALBUM WINGS!

Wohoo I am finally doing my first official post on music! *mini celebration* God I have been so bad at being active on this blog because of school however, I made time to watch mine and Raisa’s favourite KPOP group BTS!

Okay so to all the non kpoppers out there you need a bit of information about BTS you may already know what this already stands for as BTS can also mean behind the scenes. In the K-POP world BTS stands for Bangtan Boys or Bangtan Sonyeondan (방탄소년단) this means Bulletproof Boy Scouts. BTS consists of 7 members: Rap Monster (Leader) , J-Hope and Suga who are known as the Rapper line and V, Jungkook, Jimin and Jin who are known as the vocal line of the group.

14520410_1419971924684732_1987247319271025357_n

Short Films: BEGIN, LIE, STIGMA, FIRST LOVE, REFLECTION MAMA & AWAKE

It was no surprise that BTS were soon to make a comeback following the release of the short films which had me up in my room at 4pm (UK time for 12am KST) waiting for them to drop the next short film. With BTS they will always keep you on your toes and continue to boggle your mind with theories and messages. In this album BTS specifically reference the book Demian By Herman Hessee (which I have read) as Rap Monster narrates certain lines are the short films clearly show many objects and concepts that relate to the book. I have to say that these short films were produced so well along with little album track spoilers it all went well together.

LINK TO BTS SHORT FILM PLAYLIST:

Comeback Trailer –  BOY MEETS EVIL:

Next up we had the comeback trailer which everyone was waiting and boy did Bighit drop it when no one was actually expecting it, well at least I wasn’t anyway.. This teaser featured the very talented dance machine J-Hope and the music played was in fact his intro BOY MEETS EVIL! The answer was finally given to us after this whole BOY MEETS was going on since the FIRE MV and SAVE ME MV. This teaser really showed of J-Hopes talents as a dancer and a rapper and I personally really admire J-Hopes dance style and he just killed it in this teaser!  Finally but probably the most shocking thing in this teaser was the comeback date 10.10.2016 at that point I was telling myself I need to mentally and physically prepare myself for this cos after the teaser and the short films i knew that this album was going to impress!tumblr_oe2flcer3l1udxntro1_540.gif

LINK TO COMEBACK TRAILER

MUSIC VIDEO BLOOD SWEAT AND TEARS:

Before we knew it BTS were making their comeback with the title track Blood Sweat and Tears I was sat upstairs in my room watching the preview show and then 4PM hit and the MV dropped. The MV was absolutely amazing… It was visually (seriously they all looked really good here) stunning and the story of Demian was portrayed so well through the MV. The soundtrack honestly had me up dancing it has a exotic sound to it that you just have to dance to.  In terms of choreography as per usual it was crisp and clean but also portrayed a very sexy and mature side.

LINK TO BLOOD SWEAT AND TEARS MUSIC VIDEO

ALBUM REVIEW/OPINION:

The album songs and solo’s were all so unique and honestly all mad me cry because of the amount of emotion and passion and lyrics held so much meaning behind them. I’ll talk about all the tracks very briefly the first one being BEGIN by Jungkook where he talks about the BTS members and how he has changed was an emotional track because he shows how much the members mean to him through that song. LIE  by Jimin was such a vocally powerful song he definatly showed off his vocals to his full potential here. STIGMA by V which was again powerful song emotionally and vocally as showed a different side to his vocals by hitting a high pitch vocal through this song.

FIRST LOVE by Suga had to be the most passionate song for me in this album as he tells the story of how he fell in love with music through a brown piano and you are able to feel the emotion as he tells this story. REFLECTION by Rap Monster I found to be musically amazing as the instrumental chorus is a very emotional piece and the lyrics are generally really sad as it depicts Rap Monsters inner feelings about himself which made me want to give him a big hug. MAMA by Jhope is a upbeat song which had me bouncing up and down and shows his love for his mother and how he is thankful for his mother its song that personally made me smile. AWAKE by Jin was a very emotional song one that made me cry quite a bit because the lyrics clearly show the emotions you go through when your youth comes to an end and you hit the stage of becoming an adult and his voice was so emotional and he hit those notes so well which made me bawl my eyes out!  We also had a vocal line song called LOST which was happy beat so I recovered from my crying a bit but when CYPHER PT 4 came on I was seriously excited and I was impressed because CYPHER PART 4 has such a unique beat and is definatly and song that makes you sing along because I know I did !

AM I WRONG is a song with a very funky 90’s vibe and I think it aims to raise awareness of the things that are happening in the world today. 21st CENTURY GIRLS was song that definatly made me smile so much it definatly shows female empowerment and gets all the ladies putting their hands up! I was so impressed by BTS with this song after previously being accused as stereotyping women in their previous songs they cameback to show people that was never their intention! Just when I thought the tears had stopped the fan song 2! 3! HOPING FOR BETTER DAYS came on and boy I was a mess the fact they dedicated this to fans made me so happy but the amount of appreciation they were showing towards us was so much that I just started crying!

bts-wings-tracklist.jpg

LINK TO BTS WINGS FULL ALBUM

TO SUM UP:

BTS Album Wings impressed me so much because of the amount of emotion I could feel that had been put into each of those tracks.  The great thing is that they have each got a solo song but don’t seem to lose their identity as a group. Its also great to see this mature side to BTS and a new concept it shows that they are not afraid of trying different things I don’t think I have ever seen a KPOP group produce a MV like BTS Blood Sweat and Tears. I’m honestly very excited to see there live performances and future promotions for their album!


Have you heard the album? Non K-poppers are you tempted to listen to it?

tumblr_nviinzGVAl1uoud1io1_500.gif
LOOK AT THESE CUTIES

signiture


 

Leave a Reply

